top of page

Black Designers You Should Know Of !!

Meet Chicago's men and women of fashion home grown right here from the windy city and abroad, There some of the midwest most love, most contraver- sional , and most talked about desingers. With so many things on there list of things to do black fashion week, new collections, travailing, and making garment we finallty caught up with some of fashion's hottest designers to ask them a few questions to get inside thier head and see what makes them tick. So we decided to ask five question to understand them a litte bit more.

MEEKIS CASTILO

Tell our readers a little bit about yourself My biracial heritage has caused me to think way out of the box.. Knowing and realizing that being ordinary is not acceptable.... Always thinking about tomorrow and what tomorrow looks like on the runway I'm here with a look and a feel.. That says it's okay to be a Devo of fashion..., my name says it all...Meekis

What is it that attracts people to your clothes? People are attracted to my collection because of the fact that my collection is created via spirituality and artistry & uniqueness and good workmanship

Why did you decide to become a fashion designer? I decided to become a fashion designer when I was in the third grade and I went to see Diana Ross in mahogany... Never mind you I came from a very fashion forward family mom and dad where fashionistas... In their younger years and even his parents they told us to bring our a game when it comes to fashion ... growing up see my sister dressing up and walking like she was in the runway made me realize that fashion was my destiny.

Being a black designer from Chicago what would you like see change in the industry ?

In the industry Chicago and the world actually I would love to see more designers of color its funny how these producers on the Chicago fashion scene says that there are no buyers for the stores in Chicago...LIES.... There are strawberries for every store in every city they just have to be invited... But some of these producers I only worried about what kind of money could be put in their pockets point example I have 3 stores that are inter- ested in carrying my collection this spring because of the show I did for the homeless in October that producer was Tarerus Moore. .. I'll be forever grateful to this young man what's you opinion on this phrase? "black culture being accepted in fashion but not black people" We as a people of color have always had a culture and those that don't have a culture or and existence call themselves the majority of course wants to keep us as a minority. .. In reality we are the majority and they are the minorities... We come from a rich culture dat- ing all the way back to ancient Egypt..(Kemit).

LATIYA GHOLAR

Tell our readers a little bit about yourself I am Latiya Gholar. I am a designer of American Umma and executive director of Designing for a Difference. My apparel company is a fusion of American and exotic modest apparel. After becom- ing a Muslim 8 years ago, I studied Islamic fashion. Muslims have requirements for dress, but most the styles were very foreign to me. I wanted to cover more, but I definitely didn't want to look like I just walked off a plane from Pakistan. I'm not talking about Pakistani garments, they are beautiful, but not for me. I wanted to develop clothing that al- lowed be to be more covered, but still feel like an American. That is my culture. Studying Islamic fashion, I learned about covered fashion around the globe. From Africa, India, Pakistan, Saudia Arabia, Iran, Afghanistan, England, France, China, Indone- sia, Russia, etc. Those fashions were lovely, but I couldn't see myself looking like another culture, especially as a black woman. So, I used different aspects of the cultures that have been influenced by Islam and merged two cultures in the dress. Although this collection is not Islamic, we do have pieces that some Muslims have become fond of. Most of my clients are believing women, that want to be more unpretentious. However, some Muslims have an issue, because they claim that it can be offensive to the religion. Out respect we re-labelled the company from American/ Islamic fusion to exotic covered apparel. We believe that covered appar- el is new emerging market. We would like to be at the forefront. I have a non-profit Fashion De- sign studio for the community. We provide a free after school program for high schools. Our program is designed for all ages. Children, teens, adults and se- niors. We teach the basics of fashion design, upcycling, and production. Students present in a fashion show and photoshoot. I live in Sacramento, California, I am proud mother of 4. STYLE / Style

What is it that attracts people to your clothes. People are really interested in the unpretentious look of our clothes. They appreciate the lengths and the fit. Our clients enjoy looking mysterious even if it for a special occasion. It's different yet attrac- tive, desirable but respectful. Why did you decide to become a fashion designer? I have always wanted to design. I started in high school. I designed some of my friends prom dresses, I also learned sewing and help produce a fashion show at school. I attend- ed fashion school and graduated. After a 7 year hiatus, I finished school as a Muslim, and developed a deep desire to cover wom- en. Now it's my one of my passions.Being a black designer from Chicago what would you like see change in the industry Being a black designer is difficult honestly. First of all just having to overcome a mental- ity that you can actually do what you want in you life is the biggest obstacle to overcome. I love my hometown of Chicago, but we don't support each other enough. A lot of people I network with are from the midwest. We had to leave to become successful, just to free ourselves from the judgement of be- ing different and wanting more out of life. The struggle is real, and it's sad that it's hard to rise among our own people. We don't buy from each other and that is a issue. The big- gest change that I would like to see in the industry is the promotion of black designers. Often times I see black women all pumped up and excited about wearing the lastest designer label. But how many are black? How many black designers does the average black woman know? I'll wait. That's an issue. That means we aren't getting enough expo- sure, financial support and mentoring. We take a back seat in our own magazines. I would like it to be a bigger push of women being more covered and restoring our black queens. I would like to see more images of black women being, regal and beautiful and embracing their melanin and natural beauty. We need to demand a higher ex- pectation of our own media channels.

What's you opinion on this phrase? "black culture being accepted in fashion but not black people"

Blacks complain about not being included or how the runway needs to be more diverse. Well....newsflash, that's not necessarily fair. If I'm a designer, I have to choose a mar- ket and I have a specific person in mind, that may not include black people, but they throw us in because we complain about it. All of our culture is open season. When a designer emulates you, its really a compli- ment. We are one of the most duplicated people on this planet. Most black designers are designing for black women to address our specific communities and needs. Urban apparel is a prime example. I truly believe that if the black community was to embrace more black designers, we can create more opportunities for blacks in the beauty in- dustry. My mother always taught me that "everybody don't have to play with you." We need to support our own and stop looking to white designers and stores to produce images to tell us what we need to look like. I don't care about being accepted, so what? We spend enough money in the fashion industry, but with the wrong designers. Sup- port your own. Our website is under construction. You can get in touch with us via Facebook @Ameri- canUmma 916-969-0331

Meme Rollins

Tell our readers a little bit about yourself

I started sewing when I was eleven years old. I'm a self taught designer. When I was in high school I became the assistant to the home economic teacher for sewing. I was the first instructure to teach dressmaking and tailoring in Chicago city colleges (Malcolm X). What is it that attracts people to your clothes. Women and men love my designs because their all created as one of a kind. I try not to duplicate any garments I create for a customer.

Why did you decide to become a fashion designer?

While being pregnant and couldn't find any clothes that would fit a plus size woman, there is when I started creating for curvy women.

Being a black designer from Chicago what would you like see change in the industry ?

I would really like to see the industry be serious about plus size people in general. To only think that sizes 0-6 is the norm is really ridiculous. I'm proud to say that I've been on the trail or curvy women and men since I started sewing.

What's you opinion on this phrase? "black culture being accepted in fashion but not black people"

That statement is really true. It's not hard to see in the main stream of the industry that there's not enough African Americans designers who have been given the opportunity to sell their ideas to popular stores. Even the tv shows project runway, etc.. shows us that we're not good enough for them. M.H.O.D 5091 W Jackson Blvd Chicago IL 60644 708-407-6010 Web site: Michelleshouseofdesign.com

Nathalie A Hill

Tell our readers a little bit about yourself

My Name is Nathalie I come from a long line of motivated entrepreneurs. Since I could remember Ive been around women and men who have started com- panies at an early age and have been very successful at it. My family owned a very well know restaurant in the city where Mayor Harold Washington used to frequent when he was alive. So I have been birth into the blood- line of entrepreneurship. I have always had a passion for fashion every since I was a little girl. When I was 9, I remember sneaking in my moms room and taking one of her expensive silf gowns and cutting it up to make my first doll collection called the diamond collection I still have the photo of it to this day.Since My degree was in education I decided to use my degree to help fund my dream of being a designer. I currently own a home daycare in the south suburbs. I also have an online store www.irockchic. com and I provide personal styling and shopping to a variety of clients. I also wrote my first book in 2012 en- titled "That Faiirytale B.S. Belief System" it is currently available on amazon. I also am working on a reality tv show that will be a mix of iyanla Vazant meets Oprah meets What Not To Wear!! Some would say I am a Serial Entrepreneur. what is it that attracts people to your clothes. Ome thing that a long term client of mine has said is that my clothes and my brand truly are a marriage. My clothing is sophisticated, chic, sexy with a touch of edgy. When you see my brand you see all of those words in the clothing. When I have a though I write the words that I desire to be expressed when I am creating a design and it is manifested it truly a spiritual experience.

Why did you decide to become a fashion designer?

When I was younger I was a plus size girl. I remember going into stores and leaving out with nothing because everything I felt was my style they didnt have it in my size. I remeber crying to my mother often because the items that was in my size where for older more mature women. I still remember me thinking to my self that I have to change the options that are given to plusize women and girls as well. That for me is what sparked my passion for it.

Being a black designer from Chicago what would you like see change in the industry ?

I was just in a meeting with my publicist the other day amd we were talking abouit this subject. One thing I notice about being a designer in chicago is that there is so much creatvity here waiting to be tapped into and expressed. Every area of chicago is diverse and has its own rules for being stylish but I dont feel there are alot of people who are willing to express it. What I would like to see change in the industry is more diversity. How powerful would it be for two different cultures to come together as one mind to express the mind of fashion.

what's you opinion on this phrase? "black culture being accepted in fashion but not black people"

It goes back to what I have said in regards being open to diversity. Everyone is different and that is a good thing. If we could put the negative aspect of our dif- ferences and bring our differences together and use them to create the world would be full of love and even resources. I feel that without the ability to be open to each others differences thats where stereotypes, racial profiling comes into play. You can see a black person with saggy pants and a backwards cap and put them into a perticular category where as a caucasin male who does the same thing doesnt get the same response. I believe it has alot to do with being different but see- ing the creativity and negativity in our differences. You have to love through that.

Who's Behind The Blog
Recommanded Reading
Search By Tags
Follow "THIS JUST IN"
No tags yet.
  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Twitter Basic Black
  • Google+ Basic Black
bottom of page