top of page

FIND OUT WHY DANA HAMM IS THE BADDEST BABE OF ALL TIME


Divulge Magazine

Photo:Scott Schisle

 

Beauty is truly in the eye of the beholder......

These day's life has been vey busy for fitness and glamour model Dana Hamm with all the bookings and photoshoots and her tenecaious work ethic dana has a very strong and loyal following of fans for a reason, this bootylicous American bombshell is well known for her exotic beauty and curvaceous figure. Dana is what some us in the indursty call a hustler i mean she does it all from being co-founder and creative director of Iconic Beauty Images a company she started with her partner and photographer Scott Schisler to being catapulted into the mainstream american modeling, the young muse has graced numerous magazine cover's and even worked for

It is widely believed that Dana Hamm's likeness was the mold used to create the award-winning MGA Toys "Bratz Doll Dana".

Dana Hamm enjoying the beach  life.   Divulge Magazine

What’s your background in modeling?

I started my career out as a fitness model. I'm consider the "most photographed fitness model of all time", but I think that is incorrect. I would say I'm the most published. I've been on the covers and inside layouts of every top fitness magazine numerous times.

Some time you gotta let go                        divulgemag.com

When and why did you get started?

I was curious about modeling as a teenager, but at only 5'8" with 34D breasts, I didn't see myself as a high fashion model nor was I interested in that part of the industry. I loved my curves and sex appeal...I just needed to find the right niche for me. I signed with a small local agency and for my first gig they put me on the Jenny Jones show in an episode called "from bony to buff". It was all about guests who had build-up their bodies through fitness and nutrition. From there I started getting a lot calls and interest. The exposure was priceless.

 

 
st barts  , dana hamm   divulge magazine

Was it for the glamour? The money? Pure kicks?

Yes, all the above! It was everything about it. I love traveling and networking with new people. Modeling is a dream job for most women, and truly that's what it is if you keep your head on straight and surround yourself with the right people. Obviously, there are many pitfalls in modeling, so it's extremely important to stay focused and not get caught-up in partying, men, drugs, etc... You've gotta be smart and treat it like a business at all times.

divulge magazine

Who are some of your favorite models and designers, and why?

My top favorite models are Gisele, Kate Moss, Adriana Lima, Emily DiDonato, Isabeli Fontana, etc... I love some many designers, but ones that stand out as my personal favorites are Chanel, Versace, Ralph Lauren, Tom Ford, Michael Kors, and Dolce & Gabana! I also like brand names like Guess, Bebe, UNCS and INC. I love many different type of clothes, so I'm not a snob when it comes to buying things I like. It doesn't have to say "Michael Kors" for me to like it. I go by what looks good on me.

Model dana hamm loving the beach.  Divulge magazine

Which fashion magazines, websites, blogs, and catalogs do you visit most often?

I read all the usual suspects, but I think Vogue is the ultimate fashion guide. It carries the name and level of respect that everyone deems the original. I especially like some of the international versions of Vogue. Of course, Italian Vogue is TOPS! Elle and Allure are among my favorites are well.

Dana hamm enjoying Fresh fresh blue water  divulgemag.com

How would you describe your style?

Typically, my style is classic and sexy, with a hint of rock-n-roll, but comfort too. I like a lot of denim, cotton and leather. I'm into natural fibers that feel nice against my skin. I love snug fitting clothes, but I also demand a level of comfort. If I'm uncomfortable in my clothes, then I'm not happy. I won't wear anything that feels uncomfortable no matter how good it may look on me. I love clothing that makes me feel sexy and confident, but never sleazy or cheesy. Looking sophisticated is key.

 
http://www.miumiu.com/en/campaigns/ss16/video

Advertisment

 

Where do you generally shop?

I travel a lot so I'm always interested in checking out boutiques and trendy stores I don't normally have access to. For example I was just in Miami, so I was hitting up the boutiques on Ocean Drive. The clothes were so flashy and unique, I loved them!

Of course, department stores (Macy's, Nordstrom, Vonn Mar) in the mall have so much to choose from, so that's always a staple place to shop anytime.

What other modeling projects have you done?

Fashion wise I have worked with top names such as GUESS JEANS, Alexis Vogel, Pascale Swim and UNCS.

Out of all of the photos the photographer took of you in this shoot, which is your favorite and why? Do you have any other experience in the fashion industry (writing, photography, marketing, etc.)?What is fun and rewarding about modeling? What do you dislike about modeling? What advice do you have for other aspiring models? How did you prepare for this modeling shoot? What comments do you have about frugal fashion–smart or petty?

That's an impossible choice, because I'm with different animals, and they all have great meaning to me. The Wolf series portrays a sexy female warrior theme, so I like the strong fitness aspect of those shots. I'm showing my muscle definition, so in my opinion the poses display a lot of confidence. I love the Tiger series, because those pictures remind me of the Victoria Secret fashion show! I'm wearing a gorgeous handmade feather costume and I'm walking towards the camera, so it just has that empowering runway feel. The Grizzly is such a delightful animal, so I just love working with him no matter what the theme is. He is the sweetest, most mellow bear...incredibly intelligent too. He makes our photo shoots fun!!

Eat your heart out

Tell us about Iconic Beauty Images. We hear it's not just another photography company. How so?

Iconic Beauty Images is the photography company I started with my husband, photographer Scott Schisler in 2010. I would like to think we're very unique, and quite different from the others out there. My goal was to build a photography company that offered EVERYONE a chance at a high end photo shoot with works: celebrity photographer, scenic backgrounds, makeup artist, hair stylist, wardrobe, best lighting/angles and then retouching the final product in Photoshop. I never thought these things should be limited to models and celebrities. So many talented photographers out there only want to shoot professional models, and I understand that to a degree, but I think EVERYONE deserves a shot at an high end photo shoot. The other aspect that makes us really different is the fact we offer photo shoot vacations. For example our last big photo shoot destination was in St. Martin & St. Barth. It was an 18 day trip and we had a total of 22 clients. It was an absolutely amazing tour.

Our next photo shoot destination is Moab, Utah - April 18-24. Then Lake Tahoe, NV -June 20-30! We are still accepting new bookings for Lake Tahoe!! Email me for details:danahammacc@yahoo.com

What distinguishes a good model from a bad one?

A good model can crank out a variety of looks and can morph into whatever she or he needs to be for that particular job. A talented model knows how to move and express themselves in front of the camera. They realize that modeling is also acting. They are also extremely self-aware when it comes to their body and face in terms of their strengths and weaknesses. If a model is weak in a particular area of her appearance then she will play that down, while playing up one of her stronger assets. The biggest trait of a good model is having a good attitude to match. Being humble will take you a long way in an industry full of egomaniacs.

Dana hamm   hold a nice pair of melons

What are some things you dislike/hate about the fashion industry?

In terms of getting work the casting couch is alive and well, so that's always going to be an obstacle and a challenge. The world's opinions of models can also be scattered and disappointing. Some people think models are stupid, self-absorbed, superficial and lacking substance. Some people think models are willing to do ANYTHING for money, which is a sad concept. There are many things I dislike about the industry, but with all professions there are pros and cons.

How has modeling changed aspects of your life?

It has changed absolutely EVERYTHING about my life. It has taken me to so many incredible places. Allowed me to reach goals I'd never imagined...both financially and personally. Obviously, I met a lot of interesting people along the way, many new friends.

Do you do your own hair and make-up?

For the most part, yes. Unless I'm working on a commercial job. I'm the face ofwww.alexisvogel.com, which is a high end brand of cosmetics.

What’s your favorite outfit in this set of photos?

I love all of them, because each brings something fresh and new.

What’s your favorite outfit from your own closet?

Of course, it depends on where I'm going, but typically I love wearing jeans and a tee :) Simple, but sexy and comfortable.

Where can people follow your modeling career?

INSTAGRAM: @danahammofficial

FACEBOOK: Dana Barbour Hamm

TWITTER: Dana Hamm

WEBSITE: Iconic Beauty Images

Who's Behind The Blog
Recommanded Reading
Search By Tags
Follow "THIS JUST IN"
No tags yet.
  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Twitter Basic Black
  • Google+ Basic Black
bottom of page